Recommend “spirited” books for our Shelfari site

Last week, Jeremy suggested a Christmas-themed book he had read, The Christmas Jar.  This got me thinking about all of the Christmas books we love, especially children’s stories.  For several years, I have kept a Shelfari site to log my reading:  books I’ve read, with my personal reviews; books I am reading now; and books I want to read.  The last category is the most important because I can’t remember the all-important title when I’m in the bookstore.  Shelfari has room for me to rate my favorites, write reviews, and track my reading.

On Shelfari, a social networking site for book lovers, I can keep all of my books on a virtual shelf for reference and for sharing with others.  In this spirit, The Yule Log has now created a Shelfari for favorite Christmas books, and we’re looking to you to help us to fill the shelves.

I am going to start with Jeremy’s book (because he is lending it to me), followed by A Redbird Christmas, by Fannie Flagg.   I found a good resource listing every Christmas book ever written (exaggeration, but it looks like that) at MyShelf.com’s Holiday Home Page, including a whole category of Christmas mysteries; however, I’d rather have your tried and tested recommendation.

Visit our Shelfari site (see link on the sidebar) where we’ll read and post reviews of books, fiction and non-fiction, for children and adults, to keep the spirit throughout the year.  What Christmas-themed book have you read by the fire in winter or on the beach in July?

Leave a Reply

