What do the FAFSA and Aluminum Trees have in common?

I completed the FAFSA tonight after some small hassles. I’d like to say there’s something connected to Christmas and the FAFSA, but I can’t think of anything, except that there’s a lot of money involved in both.

Back in the 1960’s, I don’t know if people completed the FAFSA. I do know, however, that I probably couldn’t have afforded my very own Evergleam Aluminum Christmas Tree, retailing for $25.00. I used an inflation calculator provided by the Consumer Price Index to determine that the same tree would have cost $180.00 in today’s dollars.

The Aluminum Specialty Company, the early manufacturers of the trees, was bought and consolidated a few times and does not exist any longer.  If I talk Roger into the purchase, though, I can always go to several vintage websites or eBay.  Looks like I’ll have to fork over about $300 – $500.  Mmmm.  Sounds a little like the way that college costs have increased over time.  Can’t afford that, either.

I’ll have to settle for liking the Evergleam tree on Facebook.  (Apparently, there are 79 of us crazies out there).  For a real thrill, I can see countless videos of the Evergleam tree on YouTube. My favorite, a short film with a Frank Sinatra soundtrack, is linked here.

Leave a Reply

