Cadbury Roses, an Irish Christmas candy tradition

The Whitman’s Sampler box is 100 years old in 2012. The cross-stitch yellow box is familiar to every American, and Ed and Shirley gave me one every birthday until my low-carb birthday four years ago. (I’m going to have to remind Ed that he used to give them to me.) I know the shape and identity of every chocolate–without the key inside the box lid.  I go straight to the toffee chip and eat my least favorite, the Messenger Boy, last.  Every Easter, Valentine and Christmas season, Whitman’s chocolates are the stand-by gift for hostesses, friends and family.

In Ireland, the go-to chocolates are Cadbury Roses.  Just as the yellow two-tiered box is part of American culture, Roses’ blue tins and other packages with a red rose motif are standard Christmas candy.  First introduced in 1938, the assorted chocolates are an assortment of 10 foil twist-wrapped flavors.  Two are hazelnut (so I would avoid the purple ones).  The chocolate half-barrel has caramel in the middle (a golden foil wrap).  My favorites would be the red wrapped chocolates (Brazilian Darkness) or the orange wrapped ones (Orange creme).

They are easily purchased in the US on Amazon.com or The English Tea Store, among others.  I am planning to hold a taste test to compare Whitman’s to Cadbury Roses.  Anything for chocolate!  (At any rate–sounds better than my Plum Pudding taste test, doesn’t it?)

Has anyone actually eaten Cadbury Roses?  Feedback please?

2 comments on “Cadbury Roses, an Irish Christmas candy tradition

  1. Auntie Evelyn says:

    Absolutely!! Not only Irish but Scottish and English tradition even in Canada I would buy them duty free every Christmas. I love em.

  2. Natalie says:

    I should have consulted Aunt Evelyn first!

Leave a Reply

