iPhone apps for Christmas

I attended a tech conference in Baltimore for two days, and my mind is on overload from what I have been learning.  During the event, I had a long discussion with a friend who is in the market for a smart phone.  As I chattered on incessantly about my love of the iPhone, it occurred to me that I haven’t checked out any Christmas apps!  This is an embarrassing oversight.  I’m hard at work researching tonight.

Grinchmas Cards:  Top on the recommendations list rated by CNN, Babble.com, CNET, Appmodo and more is the Dr. Suess Camera by Oceanhouse Media.  It earns 4.5 stars out of 5 and costs $1.99.  Users can make “Grinchmas Cards.  The app provides 20 backgrounds based on original Dr. Suess artwork, and the cards can be emailed or printed.  I’ll be looking into this more thoroughly this week and I’ll be posting the results on the blog.

Coca-Cola Snow Globe:  This app allows you to load faces into an interactive snow globe and email the cards to friends.  Like JibJab, the figures dance, but the user “choreographs” the dance.  This app is free, and it’s another personalized and quirky way to send Christmas greetings.  Like Grinchmas cards, your kids will have fun spreading the Christmas cheer, and, if we ever have a snow day again, this could provide hours of entertainment.

Naughty or Nice Meter:  I don’t know if I would have wanted this around when I was a kid, but it’s one way to check if you’re on the list for a lump of coal.  This $.99 app received rave reviews and rose  to #74 overall for Thanksgiving Weekend 2011.  There are several more, including the Elf Scanner.  Hold the iPhone over the child and “scan” his body to see if they are naughty or nice.  (Parents have full control over the Naughty or Nice level.)

Santa’s Christmas Village and Christmas Mishap: Santa’s Christmas Village by EnsenaSoft is actually 17 Christmas-themed games like Sudoku, Word Search, Solitaire, Minesweeper and more for $1.99.  Seems to me it’s a great app to have ready for the long ride to grandma’s house.  For those who like a little more originality and addiction potential, there’s the Christmas Mishap game where you control Santa’s sleigh and keep from losing his toys on his journey.  It’s 99 cents.

Enough fun and games.

The Christmas List and Christmas!!:  The Christmas List is an all-in-one app for shopping and tracking spending with email and address book integration.  It’s $.99.  I’m willing to give it a try, but I’ll probably go with the free Christmas!! first. this app has a calendar, countdown, gift list and more.  It also has jokes and games and an Advent Calendar that can’t be unlocked until December 1.

I have a feeling I’m at the tip of the holiday app iceberg.  If you have favorites, email them to us and we’ll explore!

Leave a Reply

