Don’t do it alone!

On Saturday, my sister Susan and her two sons (ages 9 and almost 5) spent the rainy day at my house.  We drew up a list of what we might want to accomplish. Everyone got to contribute to the possibilities.  It looked something like this:

  • Make a Lego creation for Howard County Fair
  • Make waffles
  • Drink hot chocolate
  • Feed chickens watermelon
  • Jelly sandwich taste test–which jelly is the best?
  • Birthday present craft for two grandmothers (cannot be revealed because two grandmothers read this blog)
  • Small turtle craft made from foam pieces
  • Wax paper butterfly mobiles
  • Clay pot people (birthday or Christmas gifts)

I admit that this is a ridiculously involved list, and there was no expectation that all of it would be accomplished; however, the key factor in the success of the day of crafting, for me, was having my sister present to motivate me.  She brought her supplies and ideas.  I brought mine, and away we went.  Roger clears out when we bring up the extra folding table!

My point is that if Jeremy wants to get that nativity set made, he might want to recruit a friend who is willing to make a set, too.  Not everyone likes to work this way, but thinking back to the popularity of quilting and knitting circles, I think many people benefit from the energy of the group.

(Here’s a tip:  When I am working with my nieces and nephews, often, I try to have a photograph of the finished product and/or one I have made myself with clear steps that can be checked off as we go.  Everyone benefits from knowing the end result. And don’t choose something that takes more than 30 – 40 minutes when working with elementary children.)

I made jelly with a friend earlier this summer, and some of those jars will be gifts.  Canning is a labor-intensive task that is most definitely better when shared.  What might have been a lonely, hot, sweaty day was enhanced by conversation and blueberry smoothies.

One of my friends once said that making cookies together was the best Christmas gift I could have given her.  Another said that wrapping presents together was a gift in itself.   I recommend that if you are getting a slow start on your hand-made Christmas gifts, purchase two of everything and recruit a friend.

P.S.  Fig jelly was the favorite–yes, it’s true.  I believe some people (especially children) turn off when they hear “fig” jelly, but it is better than blueberry and peach.  I have the ballots to prove it!

2 comments on “Don’t do it alone!

  1. Susan says:

    I wondered what jelly we picked and I forgot to ask! Too busy crafting. Thanks for an awesome day.

  2. Shirley says:

    Having a finished product or photo to show before you begin a project is something that I always share with my student interns. We all need to visualize the expectattions. Can’t wait for Christmas to see my gift.

Leave a Reply

