What theme for our tree?

20120726-204749.jpg

My mom is always helping me to brainstorm great holiday ideas. Today she accompanied me to Michaels for holiday craft supplies, and we made a visit to Christmas Spirit on Rehoboth Avenue in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware.

In the store entrance we saw this tree decorated in a beach theme. Mom liked the white lifeguard chair ornament. This air conditioned wonderland got me fired up to consider how Jeremy and I are going to decorate our tree for the Festival of Trees in November.

20120726-205425.jpg

The Coca Cola tree was breathtaking, especially in the cool dim light of the store. I loved the ballerina tree and the wedding tree, but I don’t think I’ll be able to talk Jeremy into these.

A patriotic tree or music tree (there were both in the store) would be great. The Irish tree was really unique–could we assemble a tree reflecting a particular nationality?

20120726-205807.jpg

A little off the beaten path: how about a gambling tree? I don’t know if all of our readers can support this, but Maryland has a rich horse racing tradition, and this could be enhanced with other games of chance. Items we could collect would be dice, playing cards, Monopoly money and more. I bet I can find some exciting crafts to make out of playing cards.

What I learned from the experience is that The Christmas Spirit store is the springboard for decorating imagination. We bought three ornaments, two with a knitting/crochet theme. How about that for a tree? I know I could ask my aunt or Roger’s sister for help with a crocheted garland!

Leave a Reply

