Welcome to the UK!

This week I am lucky to be visiting London for the 2012 Summer Olympic Games.  London is definitely a city rich with history and tradition.  As I write this the official opening ceremonies have completed and the torch has been lit.  Everyone in the city, every locations, and nearly every person is all about the games for the next fortnight.  So where might Christmas fit into all this sport spectacle and British pride?  Everywhere of course!

On a previous visit to London I was in the city at holiday time.  Everywhere was full of the sounds, sights, and smells of Christmas.  Every church and museum was dressed up with holiday finery and the bustle of the city was alive.  Attending a concert at Westminster Abbey, shopping along the stalls at Camden and Covent Garden, and navigating the thick throngs of people at Harrod’s were part of my whirlwind tour.  This week while I am here I hope to discover some of the plans for the 2012 celebrations.  I hope to get my hands on some of the Christmas recordings from both St’ Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey.  I might even discover some unique holiday decorations or candy treats to bring home with me.  Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

