Uh oh! Back to Lowe’s in December

It’s the 7th and that means it’s time to check in on the progress of my 2011 poinsettias.  It’s August and the guidelines for care tell me that my stems should have new growth and lots of leaves. I need to cut back the new growth to 3-4 leaves.  Once trimmed it is time to bring the pots back inside and place them in a sunny window.  The growth will continue with good watering and fertilizing through September.  Here’s the trouble, my plants are not growing anything new and there are no leaves to cut back.  I’m not sure where I went wrong.  Maybe it was too dry?  Maybe it was too much water before moving outside?  Both concerned me.  I’m going to give it until the end of September before pulling the plug.  I hope your plants are doing much better and looking flush and green.  Here’s the good news, come Black Friday I’ll have my choice of 99 cent plants from both Lowe’s and Home Depot I predict.  Then the plan will be to immediately repot those babies so I can see them through to 2013!

 

Leave a Reply

