So Many Christmas Trees!

Yesterday we visited a local tree farm and discussed many parts of the Christmas Tree industry.  The discussion we had with Laura really got my interests going.  I wanted to know more about the Christmas Tree business in the US, so I did a little reading to find out more.  It is quite interesting stuff!  Here’s some of what I learned:

The first commercially sold Christmas Trees were purchased in 1850 and the first Christmas Tree lot was set-up in New York in 1851.  Today in the US trees are grown in all 50 states, even Hawaii.  Oregon sells the most trees with over 6.5 million trees going out each year.  There are over 21,000 tree growers in the US and over 12,000 cut-your-own farms operating.  These growers have over 1/2 billion trees growing on their farms and will plant over 70 million new trees in a year.  The Christmas Tree industry employees over 100,000 people.  About 25% of homes in the US are expected to have a real Christmas Tree in 2012.  These trees are purchased from retail stores, tree lots, and the actual farms.  I was surprised to find that last year around 150,000 people ordered real Christmas Trees online and had them shipped- sight unseen!  I love having a real tree in my house but not too sure I would trust a site to just bale it up and ship it to me.  I’d be really interested to hear from anyone who has purchased a tree this way.  Was it a good experience?  I will be sharing more that I learned about trees later this week.  Did you know there are 21 varieties of Christmas Trees grown in the United States?  More on that later!

Leave a Reply

