My Christmas Room- Jimmy Dean?

Dean- XmasSomething happened today that was quite rare.  I heard a Christmas song that I didn’t know.  I had never even read or seen anything about it!  This is worth noting, for sure.  The song was My Christmas Room, recorded by Jimmy Dean.  It was on his 1965 album, Jimmy Dean’s Christmas Card.  Research showed me that this album is difficult to find and quite the “get” for any Christmas music collector.  Dean was hugely popular in the 50s and 60s.  Outside music he also had TV variety shows and other business ventures, most famously- sausage!

The song is a simple tale about a man that wants to be able to keep Christmas all year (sound familiar?).  He wants to have it in a special room in his house.  He knows that a simple man would not have a great, big house to have a room just for Christmas.  The solution is to keep Christmas in his heart.  Finding this little-known song was a real Christmas treat for me.  Maybe I’ll find a few more in the coming weeks.  You should check out My Christmas Room.  Here are the lyrics so you can follow-along:

Xmas RoomIf I owned a great big house, I’d have a Christmas room.
When things about me all went wrong, I’d find Christmas still in bloom.
There would be a great big tree with evergreen perfume,
Its branches bright with memories safe inside my Christmas room.In summertime when tempers flare, when peace seems a never thing,
I’d slip inside and I’d abide where herald angels sing.

But since I’ll have no great big house when Christmas goes away,
Then make my heart a Christmas heart that carols every day,
And let it be my Christmas where good will toward men shall stay.

In summertime when tempers flare, when peace seems a never thing,
I’d slip inside and I’d abide where herald angels sing.

But since I’ll have no great big house when Christmas goes away,
Then make my heart a Christmas heart that carols every day,
And let it be my Christmas where good will toward men shall stay.

Leave a Reply

