My disorganized Christmas observations: the “big day” is less than a week away

tumblr_mdyht3O72N1rzx3umo1_500Tonight, I am going to write about the “other Christmas,” the one that doesn’t go the way we wish. The one where the present isn’t exactly right.  The one where your Christmas tree falls down–not once–but THREE times.

I was returning some Christmas ornaments at Wal-Mart yesterday, and the cashier next to me generated a receipt that literally fell to the floor and curled up in circles.  Seems the customer was purchasing 100 Wal-Mart gift cards.  I’m sorry to report that I did not ask what he was going to do with those gift cards. I am figuring it was a charitable venture.  While his gift cards may be going to a good cause, many of us will receive gift cards that remain unspent.  In fact, Business News Daily reports that $1.7 billion in gift cards will not be redeemed.  The good news is that when we do redeem the gift cards, we spend an average of $25 more to than the face value.  That’s a plus for the businesses.

I buy gift cards all the time, and I especially like the huge variety of cards available, but I admit to having a special gift card pouch where I keep the ones Roger and I have not used, and that’s a lot.

Unrelated to gift cards, here’s another link I stumbled across.  Curious about the British royals and how they will spend Christmas?  So am I!  The official news reports lunches and dinners in a steady stream of celebration, punctuated by observations about Kate’s daily maternal well-being.  The unofficial version is in Alison Jackson’s photo shoot for People Magazine.  Will and Kate look-alikes pose in a number of irreverent photos of the imagined Will and Kate Christmas.  Check it out!

Jeremy has been seriously counting down his top 10 Christmas secrets, and they’re something I look forward to each month. This list is 19 lessons we could learn from our favorite Christmas movies.  Loved Lesson #1:  Think about the size of the Christmas tree you’re going to get because you’re the one who has to bring it home.  The movie clip shows Hagrid dragging the Hogwarts tree in the snow.  The rest are cute and clever. I don’t think Jeremy’s tree woes are due to the size of his tree, though.

Last random thought?  If your Christmas tree does fall down several times, you need a new tree stand.  Roger and I have a Davis tree stand that looks a little like something from a ’60’s sci fi movie, but it is amazingly sturdy.  This link demonstrates how it works.  Despite phone calls all over the Baltimore area, I was unable to find one to gift to Jeremy.  Does anyone know where we can buy this?

Back to my holiday meltdown. . .

Leave a Reply

