Rockettes Christmas Spectacular – There’s a hole in my bucket

RockettesBack in July, when Christmas was but a dream, Jeremy and I spelled out our bucket lists.  Curiously, both of us wanted to go to Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall to see the Rockettes. I have always loved the larger-than-life dancing choruses that were first made popular by the Ziegfeld Follies in the early 1900’s.  The first Rockettes show was in 1933, and it continues to sell out the eight week run.  According to the Rockettes.com website, the dancers train six hours a day, six days a week to prepare for 210 Christmas performances. There’s also a national touring show that appears in four major cities, including Nashville, St. Louis, Chicago and Dallas.  I’m missing those, too.

In addition to Radio City’s website, the Rockettes have their own site that gives a lot of detail and history about the lives of the dancers, how to become a Rockette, fashion, and more.  There is a series of videos demonstrating the Rockettes’ timeline from the 1920’s to now, including a video about opening night 2012.

Tradition dictates a toy soldier routine, 12 days of Rockettes Christmas, dancing Santas, and a live nativity. Here’s a video of this year’s “Twelve Days of Christmas.”

This year is their 85th season, and although I won’t be going to see them, there’s no reason why someone can’t purchase the 75th anniversary DVD for me.  Here’s the link on Amazon.

One comment on “Rockettes Christmas Spectacular – There’s a hole in my bucket

  1. BOI says:

    I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog, I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Leave a Reply

