Peep Show and Christmas

ChristmasPeepsPeeps, the sugary, marshmallow treat, are a part of just about every Easter basket, on par with candy canes at Christmas.  Jeremy sent a link to The Washington Post’s seventh annual Peeps diorama contest asking me why The Yule Log failed to enter this year.  I could remind him that I sent an article to him LAST year about a similar Carroll County Arts Center Peeps contest.  We can agree that great minds think alike–just on different schedules.  You can expect The Yule Log will be making a Christmas-themed diorama in 2014.

Meanwhile, what will our diorama be called?  Merry Peep-ness?  Santa and his eight tiny Peep-deer?  T’was the Night Before Peep-ness. . .The Peepcracker Ballet . . .The possibilities are endless. The Peeps website lists all of the annual contests, so I’ve marked the page here.  I’m expecting Jeremy to do one of his post-holiday raids on the local stores to stock up on the leftover Peeps. Better yet, I think we should stock up next year on all of the holiday peeps–the neon green trees, the brown gingerbread men, and the white snowmen Peeps.  I had better check the diorama rules to see if ANY kind of Peep is an OK kind of peep–or do we need to stick to lavender bunnies and yellow chicks?

I “LIKED” Peeps on Facebook and took the Peeps personality quiz. (I didn’t get results, but the questions were clever.)  Lo and behold! Peeps has a web page dedicated to Christmas Peeps recipes.  With my belly full of the candy I raided from Roger and C.J.’s Easter baskets, I’m not too motivated to bake anything with marshamallow Peeps, but that’s not to say that I won’t be ready tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

