Duncan Royale at Frederick Community College

Display CaseSure enough, just when I “need a little Christmas” I find it at Frederick Community College while I’m searching for a lab in the library. In the main hallway on the first floor, there are two showcases of Duncan Royale Santa figurines gifted to the college by the family of Donald B. Rice, Sr. 

The figure of “Black Peter” caught my eye first because of Jeremy’s explorations into the topic.  The “Sir Christmas” is my favorite.  There is little that I could find explaining the background of these collectibles, produced in throughout the 1980’s and early 90’s.  With limited production, they are now traded at increasing prices from $150+ per figurine.  This link to Christmas Treasures will give you a look at the entire collection.Sir Santa

The display included two books about the Christmas series, so I think my next step is a visit to the local library.Bad Santa

Leave a Reply

