We “scream” for Christmas

The Capitol Christmas tree was lighted this evening.  I wasn’t there, but the video of this evening’s ceremony was posted on Reuters.  Multi-colored lights?  I don’t know how I feel about that.  The tree is beautiful, though.  I hope Roger and I have an opportunity to go to Washington, D.C. this Christmas season.  There are so many tree traditions in our nation’s capital!  New York City, make room.

Scream ornament

On the radio this morning, I heard about a tree that I MUST see this season.  A lesser-known Christmas tree that was lighted today is the Union Station Christmas tree, an annual gift from  the Norwegian Embassy to all Americans.  This tradition, started 16 years ago, usually features a tree decorated with Norwegian ornaments, flags, and other items of national significance.  This year, the tree is decorated with 700 reflective ornaments of Edvard Munch’s famous painting, The Scream.  I’ve included a link here to The Washington Post article.

Multi-colored lights?  Symbols of modern suffering?  What is Christmas coming to?

Leave a Reply

