Did you know? A yule log burns no more

The Yule Log Washington PostIt wasn’t until I read a letter to the editor in The Washington Post that I remember that there was a yule log display  in President’s Park near the National Christmas tree. For years, huge logs, lifted and deposited by forklift and guarded by a National Park Service employee, burned in the fire pit . Before Roger and I visited President’s Park in 2012 to visit the National Christmas Tree, I vaguely remember standing on the Ellipse on a cold December evening sometime in my childhood–probably the mid-70’s.  With the prompting of this article, I think I remember the fire pit!  (I am going to consult my mother on this issue.)

The yule log was discontinued before the Christmas 2012 season, the explanation being that the design of the annual display left no room for the fire pit, so it was covered over.  I, for one, didn’t realize that we have lost a treasure–until it was too late!  I did find a Facebook page dedicated to resurrecting the fire pit: Bring Back the Yule Log. I’ll be following that page, too.

Here is a more recent letter written by Marsha Schmidt on January 4, 2014 explaining her memory of the yule log and her efforts to have it reinstated.  I think that Jeremy and I should support the return of the yule log and make it our special 2014 mission!

One comment on “Did you know? A yule log burns no more

  1. Jeremy says:

    I am in! We could just show up on the Ellipse and bring our own burning wood:) Probably better to do it within the confines of some formal group though. Maybe we could be the sponsors!
    – Jeremy

Leave a Reply

