Holiday group project/contest: Make sock snowmen

Snowmen 1-17-2015Two friends sent me this two-minute video by Handimania demonstrating how to make a sock snowman. Although there are plenty of websites detailing similar instructions, I was amazed by the ease with which my kindergarten grandson was able to follow her video.  We loved making these little guys.

The socks I had weren’t snowman-worthy, so I had to make a trip to the dollar store. Still, my total cost of one snowman was less than $1.00. The only tip I can add to the video demonstration is that you will need twice as much rice as you think you need.  We kept adding and adding.  I wish I had purchased better-quality socks because thicker cotton would have had a nicer finish; however, if this is a large-group craft, you can’t beat two snowmen for $1.00.  Costco had great socks, 8 pr. for $10.00.  If I were throwing a party, I’d choose them.

Every year, during the holiday season I struggle to think of a success-guaranteed project that could also create laughter and competition.  At a party for children, teens or adults,  each member could make and personalize a snowman to build a village of friends.  Watch the video to the end, and you will see a parade of snowmen that will give you ideas.

Leave a Reply

