January Crafting: Curly paper snowflakes

January is a big let-down for Christmas addicts, like me. In an early 2012 podcast,  Jeremy advocated that we ease out of Christmas with a month of snowmen and snowflakes, still appropriate for winter, but neutral on the Christmas scale.  In this spirit, I decided to explore some snowflake crafts.

Curly SnowflakeLast winter, my mother-in-law gave me a beautiful white curly paper snowflake.  I studied it and couldn’t imagine how it was made.  She said, “Oh, they’re easy, I’ll show you sometime.”  When the holiday season ended, I put it in the attic and forgot about it.

“Sometimes” don’t always happen, and a year later, when I arrived for a visit with paper, scissors, and tape and entreated her to demonstrate, she shook her head, “I don’t know how to make those!”  She smiled the knowing smile of someone who is sure I’m a little crazy.

I resorted to YouTube and found plenty of tutorials for the twisted paper snowflake.  They are so much easier than I imagined!  This tutorial is my favorite because the finished product isn’t the typical giant, 16-inch white snowflake.  I found that they can be made just as easily with 2- and 3-inch squares.

Today, I met with my friend, Donna, for coffee and crafting, and we set to work on 6-inch snowflakes made from craft paper.  We were delighted with our nearly instant results.  She said she would try to make them in bright spring colors and create a paper bouquet for a friend.

At my doctor’s office they decorated the entire ceiling in red curly snowflakes, hanging evenly spaced every ceiling tile–beautiful.

I’m going to try a few more made out of recycled Christmas cards (my favorite crafting material.)

Children could easily handle the larger snowflake.  The smaller version takes more small motor skills.  Have fun making a blizzard of these!

 

One comment on “January Crafting: Curly paper snowflakes

  1. HALEYSHI says:

    Cute

    Life is good! Shirley

    >

Leave a Reply

