Wisconsin: Cheddar-Apple cookies incorporate Wisconsin cheddar

applecheddarIn our quest to find the perfect cookie for each state, I have chosen three possibilities for Wisconsin.  Jeremy and I are trying to bake one cookie representing each state throughout 2017. Every two weeks, we each draw a new state from a jar. My selection this cycle is Wisconsin.  I love cheese, so it was a no-brainer to check out recipes on the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board website.

The upside of Cheddar-Apple cookies is the batter–I began by tasting the Wisconsin cheddar cheese as I shredded it.  Then, I tasted a little brown sugar and the creamed sugar/cheese/butter blend.  (I was surprised how good that tasted.)

Cream the brown sugar, butter and cheddar cheese.

Cream the brown sugar, butter and cheddar cheese.

The batter was marvelous, and I admit to licking my fingers throughout the cookie-baking process.  The baked cookies, however, are not my favorite.  I tend toward more sweet, and these are a little less sweet.  I didn’t hesitate to eat two or three (on top of my tummy ache from all the raw dough), but I wouldn’t sneak these in the middle of the night.  I think it’s more a matter of personal taste.

The cookies were light brown and the perfect size.  If I adjusted the recipe and made these again, I might add a little cinnamon and sweetened applesauce.  (We had only unsweetened in the cupboard.)

Cheddar-Apple Cookies

Servings:  3 dozen (Our recipe made a few more.)

INGREDIENTS

1 1/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 pound (1 stick) butter, unsalted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup (2 ounces) Wisconsin cheddar cheese, shredded
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup prepared applesauce
3 cups rolled oats
COOKING INSTRUCTIONS
Heat oven to 350°F. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg. In a large bowl, cream the butter, brown sugar, and cheese. Beat in the eggs and vanilla extract. Stir in the flour mixture. Add the oatmeal and applesauce, stirring well. Drop small spoonfuls of batter onto a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

I’m moving on to two other Wisconsin recipes before I leave the state.  I’ll keep you posted.