Colorado: Bake these amazing Cowboy Cookies

Our 50-state Christmas cookie challenge continues.  We’re into week 7 of our adventure.  I’ve baked c0okies representing Alaska, Illinois and Wisconsin.  I drew Colorado this week.img_9239

It’s tough to research the Christmas cookie profile of Colorado without landing on some marijuana-related gifts.   Fortunately, Colorado Cowboy Cookies are an oatmeal and chocolate chip based cookie that requires no mind-altering substances.  They are delicious all on their own.

I found this recipe on several sites, but I am linking it to the Epicurious recipe online.

I had my first experience toasting walnuts, and, I think that the crunchy walnut flavor greatly enhanced the cookie, but it might not be a flavor that everyone loves.  My toasted walnuts were two seconds from charred, so I would not let them toast quite as long next time.

I mixed up a batch and made a dozen for my son and his wife.  Then, I left some of the dough (enough for a dozen) at my parents’ house for them to bake later.  I visited my neighbors and baked a dozen for them.  I wrapped up my Cowboy cookie tour with a dozen at home.  If I had followed the recipe and made super-sized cookies, there would have been 20; however, I was able to make about four dozen “regular” sized cookies.

Everyone agreed these are delicious.  They would make great gifts as oversized cookies wrapped in a bandana or some similar cowboy theme–I’ll have to work on that idea.

YIELD

Makes about 20 cookiesimg_9240

INGREDIENTS

    • 2 cups all purpose flour
    • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
    • 3/4 cup sugar
    • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons (packed) dark brown sugar
    • 2 large eggs
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
    • 1 cup chopped toasted walnuts (about 4 ounces)

PREPARATION

    1. Whisk first 5 ingredients in medium bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat butter and both sugars in large bowl until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, beating to combine. Add dry ingredients and beat until just blended. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Cover dough and chill 1 hour. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep chilled. Let soften slightly before continuing.)
    2. Arrange 2 racks in center of oven; preheat to 350°F. Butter 2 baking sheets. Form dough into balls, using 1/4 cup dough for each. Place on prepared sheets, spacing 2 inches apart. Flatten with hand to 3 1/2-inch rounds. Bake 10 minutes, then rotate sheets. Bake until cookies are golden brown around edges and firm in center, about 4 minutes longer. Cool on sheet 5 minutes. Transfer to racks to cool completely. (Can be made 1 week ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.)

Leave a Reply

