Montana: Iced Oatmeal cookies are Santa’s favorite

The choice for Montana’s best cookie was easy–Iced Oatmeal Cookies.  What attracted me to this specific recipe was the icing (which reminds me of the classic Archway Iced Oatmeal cookies we bought when I was younger) and the direction in the recipe requiring the oats to be milled in a food processor.

If you haven’t been following our 2017 challenge, Jeremy and I are baking our way through the 50 states in search of the best Christmas cookies to present to our friends.  My last cookie was a winner, Mississippi Praline Macaroons.  The pecans in baked meringue were like eating nutty toasted marshmallows–a treat for me.    Michigan,  South Carolina,  Indiana,  New JerseyAlaska, Colorado, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Alabama.

The cookies started off well, with the food processor and the oats.  Like other recipes that have tripped me up, there was a footnote that I read at the end of the recipe–milling the oats too long makes a flour, which makes the entire cookie more soft.  I think that the very soft cookie was not my overall objective–I would have liked the end result to have some chewy/crunchiness.

I took the cookies to my nephew’s graduation party, and the plate was empty when I left.  I loved the icing, and the cookies looked very pretty.  Next time, I will not mill the oats at all to keep the traditional texture.  The link will take you to the website with really nice photos and step by step directions.Oatmealcookiedrying

Prep time, 15 mins
Cook time, 12 mins
Total time, 27 mins
Serves: 2 dozen
INGREDIENTS
  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Glaze
  • 2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 3 tablespoons milk

 

 

Leave a Reply

